Although states throughout the country, such as Colorado and California, have decided to legalize recreational marijuana, Kansas still considers cannabis to be a controlled substance that residents are not allowed to use recreationally. Furthermore, Kansas doesn’t even consider medicinal marijuana legal, despite the fact that half the states do allow cannabis for medical purposes.
Possession of Marijuana
Possession of any amount of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor in Kansas, which is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of one year and a fine of up to $2,500. The second marijuana possession charge is considered a felony, resulting in a 42-month prison sentence and a fine of up to $100,000.
Sale or Distribution
The felony severity for possession with intent to sell or distribute cannabis depends on the amount of marijuana involved. Less than 25 grams is a level 4 felony, 25 to 450 grams is a level 3 felony, 450 grams to 30 kilograms is a level 2 felony, and 30 kilos or more is a level 1 felony.
Growing marijuana is also considered a criminal offense in Kansas. The penalty varies depending on the number of plants. Five to 49 plants is a level 3 felony, 50 to 100 plants is a level 2 felony, and 100 or more plants is a level 1 felony.
If you have been charged with a marijuana-related offense in Kansas, consult an experienced lawyer. At Rokusek Stein, LLC, our Kansas City criminal defense attorneys have more than 30 years of collective experience practicing in both Kansas and Missouri in both state and federal courts. Do not hesitate to let our legal team secure the most favorable outcome.