Kansas City Criminal Defense Lawyers
5 Common Summer Juvenile Crimes

5 Common Summer Juvenile Crimes

Every summer, young students throughout Kansas and the rest of the United States are out of school for a few months, spending more time at home, on the road, and out and about with friends for long periods of time. However, all this free time can also lead to trouble with the law.

The most common juvenile crimes during summer include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • DUI – Since summer parties and get-togethers typically involve alcohol, which means teenagers and young adults are more likely to drive under the influence. If a driver who is under 21 years of age has a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of at least .02 percent, he/she can be charged with a DUI in Kansas. However, if a young driver’s BAC is at least .08 percent, he/she will face more severe penalties, including jail time.
  • Drug possession – A substantial number of juvenile arrests over the summertime involve cannabis and other drugs. Although a conviction for simple drug possession can lead to harsh penalties, having a drug crime on your criminal record can potentially derail your educational and career plans.
  • Theft – Because many people leave their homes unoccupied throughout the day or while on vacation and the malls are more bustling with activity, there is a significant increase in theft and shoplifting crimes during the summer.
  • Sexual assault – There is plenty of room for social interaction and romantic relationships during the summertime, but sometimes teens misconstrue certain situations and end up committing sex crimes. Unfortunately, Kansas prosecutors are tough on sexual assault, which means it is possible for a teenager to be tried as an adult and face extremely harsh penalties, such as imprisonment.
  • Curfew – Each city and town in Kansas has certain curfew laws and age restrictions, which means youths are not allowed to be outside without adult supervision during specific hours. In Kansas City, youths under 18 years of age cannot be outside unsupervised between 11 PM and 6 AM Sunday through Thursday and between 1 AM and 6 AM Friday through Saturday. When a minor under 16 years old violates the curfew law, his/her parents are subject to a fine of up to $500. If the minor is over 16, he/she may be summoned to juvenile court.

If your child has been charged with a criminal offense in Kansas City, contact Rokusek Stein Law, LLC today at (913) 583-0465 for a free case review.

Categories:

Contact Us Today

All Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.