Kansas City Criminal Defense Lawyers
Kansas Prostitution Laws

Kansas Prostitution Laws

In Kansas and every state in the U.S.—besides some parts of Nevada—it is against the law to engage in prostitution. In addition, it is illegal to pay someone to perform a sexual act or enter a place where prostitution occurs with the intention to engage in a sex act with a prostitute, which is known as patronizing.

Prostitution is a class B misdemeanor that carries a maximum six-month jail sentence and a fine no more than $1,000. However, if the person facing a prostitution charge is a human trafficking victim or under 18 years of age, then these facts can be used as an affirmative defense to the criminal charges.

Additionally, promoting prostitution by running a brothel or recruiting prostitutes is a severity level 9 felony, which results in a maximum 13-month prison sentence for a first offense. A repeat offense is a severity level 7 felony, which can lead to a maximum 26-month prison term.

To be convicted of promoting prostitution, you must be aware that prostitution is taking place. If the defendant wasn’t aware of such upon arrest, he/she cannot be charged with promoting prostitution.

Patronizing is a class A misdemeanor, punishable by a jail sentence of up to one year and a maximum $2,500 fine. A repeat offense is a severity level 9 felony.

Keep in mind, it is legal to hire an escort for nonsexual purposes. If a person is charged with patronizing, he/she may argue that the alleged prostitute wasn’t hired for sexual activity, but instead for companionship.

If you have been charged with prostitution or another sex crime in Kansas City, contact Rokusek Stein Law, LLC today at (913) 583-0465.

Categories:

Contact Us Today

All Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.