If you've been charged with driving under the influence (DUI or DWI), it's important that you speak with a Kansas City criminal defense attorney right away. At Rokusek Stein Law, LLC, we have more than 30 years of combined experience in criminal law. Attorney Jackie Rokusek has an Avvo Rating of 10.0 and a top ten ranking from the National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys (NACDA). She is also the former supervisor of the Traffic Division of the District Attorney's office in Johnson County.
Contact Rokusek Stein Law, LLC to learn more about your legal options.
DUI penalties, even for a first-time offense, are extremely serious. Not only can they result in fines and jail time, but a conviction may also mean license suspension, which can seriously impact your ability to get to work, drive your kids to school, and more!
A first-time drunk driving conviction in the state of Kansas results in the following:
Repeat convictions or getting into a drunk driving accident can result in felony charges that include a one-year license suspension, a $2,500 fine, a one-year prison sentence, and the mandated use of an ignition interlock device (IID).
Kansas law makes it a crime for anyone under the age of 21 to possess, consume, obtain, purchase, or attempt to obtain alcoholic liquor. Any juvenile convicted of such offenses will be fined between $200 and $500. An underage drinking conviction may also result in mandated community service, completion of an educational program, suspension of driving privileges, and the loss of extra-curricular opportunities.
For underage drivers, blood alcohol content (BAC) of .02% or higher is grounds for a DUI or DWI.
A competent defense attorney will not advise you to seek diversion without first examining the details of your police report. Our first priority at Rokusek Stein Law, LLC, is to find grounds for an acquittal or dismissal.
These are some of the questions we ask during our investigation: